JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 272

    02 Apr 2017

    Who's Getting A Harry Jerome Award This Year?

    The Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA) announced the 2017 winners for the 35th Annual Harry Jerome Awards presented by the BBPA and TD Bank at a Media Launch reception hosted by TD Bank on March 28th, 2017.

    According to BBPA President, Pauline Christian, "The winners of the BBPA 35th Anniversary Harry Jerome awards are truly symbolic of this year's theme 'Beyond Excellence'. As the BBPA celebrates this significant milestone alongside Canada's 150th Birthday, it is our hope that the entire Canadian family will come onside in acknowledging the United Nation's Decade of recognizing people of African descent, 2015 - 2024."

    Established in the memory of Harry Jerome, an outstanding African Canadian Olympic athlete, scholar and social advocate, the BBPA Harry Jerome Awards is an annual celebration that pays tribute to outstanding and inspirational African-Canadians.

    Presented by TD Bank, the BBPA Harry Jerome Awards are recognized as one of the most prestigious national award galas in the African-Canadian community and a coveted symbol of achievement. The winners receive awards in sixteen to eighteen categories, yearly. This year's categories are: Academics, Arts, Athletics, Leadership, Business, Entertainment, Professional Excellence, Health Science, Technology and Innovation, Community Service, Lifetime Achievement, Diversity, Trailblazer, Social Advocacy, Volunteer, Public Advocacy, Youth Advancement, and the President's Award.

    "The theme, 'Beyond Excellence' is such a prophetic focus that each of us can grab hold onto; it is with this mindset that will allow us to achieve more than we think or can imagine. This is how we tap into our unlimited potential." states Michelle Richards, Chair of the Harry Jerome Awards.

    The BBPA is proud to honour and celebrate the following award winners:

    Rev. Dr. Audley N. James (Lifetime Achievement Award)

    Harriet Thornhill (Youth Advancement Award)

    Dr. Everton Gooden (Trailblazer Award)

    Keith Spence (Professional Excellence Award)

    George Frempong (Business Award)

    Isobel Granger (Public Advocacy Award)

    Leanne Prendergast (Leadership Award)

    Sharon Riley (Entertainment Award)

    Gabrielle Fletcher (Academics Award)

    Dr. Barbara Trieloff-Deane (Diversity Award)

    Wesley J. Hall (President's Award)

    Chris Campbell (Volunteer Award)

    Andre De Grasse (Athletics Award)

    Ron Cunningham (Community Service Award)

    Dr. Juliet M. Daniel (Technology and Innovation Award)

    Cheryl Nembhard (Social Advocacy)

    Fabienne Colas (Arts Award)

    Dr. Boluwaji Ogunyemi (Health Science Award)

    Read 3754 times
    (1 Vote)

    ByBlacks.com is a bold, innovative online magazine serving the Black community in Canada.

    With over 100 writers contributing on topics ranging from race relations, Black Canadian history, spirituality, fitness, parenting, fashion, food and more, ByBlacks.com helps you live a better life.

    And with our detailed Black Canadian Artist, Books, Business and Politicians Directory, Black Canadian Events Listing and Job Postings, we put all of Black Canada at your fingertips.


    Featured Directory Listings

    Featured events

    About ByBlacks.com


    ByBlacks.com is the top-ranked award-winning online magazine focused exclusively on telling Black Canadian stories. With over one hundred writers to date covering a range of editorial content, we also provide a free business directory for Black Canadian owned businesses, free events listing and promotional services for our clients.


    Company Info


    Follow Us:

    More on ByBlacks.com